Confession

It’s been over a couple of years now. I wonder…

Have I missed my prime? Is this my prime? At twenty six I stand baffled at how near I am to thirty and yet haven’t accomplished my goals yet.

I would have thought that at this point I’d be living with my significant other and possibly be engaged or in something serious. Maybe children. Who knows – but needless to say I thought it was just something that happened naturally. Here I am – single, independent, semi – successful and doing me. Now my problem is how do I go about this?

“Just give it time, you’ll find someone”

“Go out more”
“Just go with it”

It’s not that I’m looking. It’s not like I want to get on tinder and go out with anyone. I just want it to be simple. Organic and natural. Many people say things like

I’m just a little sick of being single. There’s nothing wrong with it either.

The majority of my high school class / many college pals are already married or have a couple of children. Even within my own family I’m the last one without children. Maybe I’ve been feeling a little bit of the blues ..

It’s not that I dislike where I am, because I don’t. I love being independent. I love having my own space, doing my thing, doing things on my time, spending my money on me, and having a good mental relationship with myself. I have a different kind of freedom that others don’t understand.

So here I am.

I’m single. I guess I’m happy (ish) with what I’m doing in my life. I just slightly wish societies expectation and peoples timelines wouldn’t drown me in sorrows.

Leave a comment